About the UNESCO Creative Cities Network

Launched in 2004, the UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) strengthens cooperation with and among cities that have recognized creativity as a strategic factor of sustainable development on an economic, social, cultural and environmental level.

By joining the Network, cities commit to sharing best practices, developing partnerships that promote creativity and cultural industries, strengthening participation in cultural life and integrating culture in urban development plans.

Building on this commitment, the 116 member cities from 54 countries that currently form this growing network, work together towards a common mission: placing creativity and cultural industries at the core of their development plans at the local level and actively cooperating at the international level.

The UNESCO Creative Cities Network covers seven creative fields: Crafts and Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Media Arts, and Music. While cities from the same creative field share information and collaborate intensely to develop joint partnerships, all member cities also have the possibility to peerlearn at common gatherings, such as international conferences or the Network’s Annual Meeting.

Read more: www.en.unesco.org/creative-cities/home

Related documents:
UCCN documents:
UCCN Mission Statement (pdf)
UCCN Membership Monitoring Guidelines (pdf)
Östersund Declaration, September 2016 (pdf)

Policy document:
Transforming our world: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (A/RES/70/1) (pdf)

Information document:
Re shaping Cultural Policies, 2005 Convention Global Report (pdf)